S-League wraps up with awards ceremony

The curtain has been brought down on a successful Telekom S-League first season in fitting fashion with the hosting of a colourful closing ceremony.

The Koloale players celebrate their S-League success at the
official awards ceremony.

The event was held on Saturday evening at the Solomon Islands Football Federation academy grounds in Honiara and was attended by over 300 guests, officials, players and fans.

Entertainment was not in short supply as music groups Too Good Boys and Wantoks joined a bamboo band from Western Province in gracing the stage with their songs and performances.

The first award to be presented was the Telekom S-League Golden Boot, which went to Benjamin Totori of champions Koloale. Totori found the back of the net a highly-impressive 23 times in 19 matches during the season as Koloale took the inaugural title.

This was followed by the Telekom S-League Fair Play Award, a gong reserved for the team who played the game in the fairest manner. It was awarded to Marist Fire and was collected by former Hekari United star Joachim Waroi, who captained Marist throughout the campaign.

The Telekom S-League Championship Series awards came next and saw several teams walk away with hefty sums of money.

Kossa collected $50,000 SBD for their fourth-place finish in the championship, a knockout tournament held after the completion of the league season, while Western United took home $70,000 for ending in third. The $90,000 prize for second place went to Koloale but the largest cheque was reserved for the winners of the championship, Solomon Warriors, who became $150,000 richer thanks to their penalty shoot-out win over Koloale in the final.

The highlight of the evening arrived when attention turned to the main S-League awards and the cheers started to roll in from Koloale's fanatical supporters as they waited for their team to take the stage.

Kossa were up once again first, this time to receive the S-League third-place prize of $50,000. Solomon Warriors collected $75,000 for coming second but the largest sum deservedly went to winners Koloale, who picked up a cheque for $150,000.

2011 Telekom S-League Awards

S-League Golden Boot: Benjamin Totori (Koloale)

S-League Fair Play: Marist Fire

Championship Series winner: Solomon Warriors
Runners-up: Koloale
Third: Western United
Fourth: Kossa

S-League winner: Koloale
Runners-up: Solomon Warriors
Third: Kossa

For more on Solomon Islands football go to www.siff.com.sb

Updated On Wednesday, June 22, 2011