O-League and Pacific Games teams learn fate

The teams taking part in the 2011/12 O-League and XIV Pacific Games have found out their path to glory after the official draw ceremonies for both tournaments were conducted at the OFC Headquarters in Auckland today.

OFC Senior Vice-President Martin Alufurai, left, and Head of
Competitions David Firisua conduct the official draw ceremony.

In attendance were members of the OFC Executive Committee, General Secretariat staff and representatives from the eight clubs competing for the coveted O-League trophy and a place at the FIFA Club World Cup 2012.

2011/12 O-League

In June, the OFC Executive separated the sides into two groups but today’s draw was required to decide the position of each team within those groups. The groupings for the 2011/12 O-League are as follows:

Group A
1. Waitakere United (NZL)
2. Tefana (TAH)
3. Ba (FIJ)
4. Mont-Dore (NCL)

Group B
1. Amicale (VAN)
2. Hekari United (PNG)
3. Koloale (SOL)
4. Auckland City (NZL)

XIV Pacific Games

Immediately after the O-League representatives had learned their fate, the official draw for the XIV Pacific Games took place and was streamed live on oceaniafootball.com as the coverage continued.

A total of 11 men’s and nine women’s teams will take part in the football tournaments at the Pacific Games to be held in New Caledonia from 27 August to 9 September 2011. The groups for each tournament are as follows:


Group A
1. New Caledonia
2. Vanuatu
3. Solomon Islands
4. Guam
5. American Samoa
6. Tuvalu

Group B
1. Fiji
2. Tahiti
3. Papua New Guinea
4. Cook Islands
5. Kiribati


Group A
1. Papua New Guinea
2. Tahiti
3. Solomon Islands
4. New Caledonia
5. American Samoa

Group B
1. Tonga
2. Fiji
3. Cook Islands
4. Guam

The match schedule for both the 2011/12 O-League and the XIV Pacific Games will be released in due course.

To watch coverage of the official draw ceremonies click here

Full analysis, reaction and photos will follow shortly on www.oceaniafootball.com

Updated On Tuesday, July 19, 2011