OFC Club Championship 2005

The fourth edition of the OFC Club Championship was held in 2005 and was hosted in Papeete, Tahiti. Australian champions Sydney FC qualified automatically for the group stage, alongside AS Manu Arae and AS Pirae from host nation Tahiti, with the other five competing clubs forced to qualify through a preliminary round. The eight participating sides were then split into two groups of four, with the top two in each group progressing to the semi-finals.

Sydney FC and AS Pirae progressed through Group A, and were joined by New Caledonian champions AS Magenta and Vanuatuan champions Tafea FC from Group B in the semi-finals. Both semi-finals were won in convincing fashion, with Sydney FC beating Tafea FC 6-0, and AS Magenta defeating AS Pirae 4-1. Sydney FC made it a four-peat of championships for Australian clubs, beating AS Magenta 2-0 in the final at Stade Pater with goals from Matthew Bingley and David Zdrilic to claim the OFC Club Championship title.

As continental champions, Sydney FC went on to claim fifth place at the 2005 FIFA Club World Cup in Japan, losing to CONCACAF champions Saprissa in their quarter-final, but defeating CAF champions Al-Ahly in the fifth place play-off with goals from Dwight Yorke and David Carney.