OFC Futsal Championship 2014

The 10th edition of the OFC Futsal Championship took place in 2014 and was hosted at the Arène du Sud in Païta, New Caledonia. The tournament was contested by five nations, hosts New Caledonia, New Zealand, Vanuatu, Tahiti and Malaysia from the Asian Football Confederation – the tournament was played in a round-robin format.

A 4-1 victory over 2013 runners-up Malaysia in the first match of the tournament had New Zealand in the early frame for a first continental title, and they backed it up with a 5-1 win over Vanuatu. New Zealand couldn’t keep it together though, falling to two defeats to both hosts New Caledonia and Tahiti as they slid down the table.

Malaysia took advantage and rebounded from their opening loss to win all of their remaining three matches, claiming their first OFC Futsal Championship title with a 6-3 victory over hosts New Caledonia on the final day. Victories over Vanuatu and New Zealand, saw New Caledonia finish as runners-up, whilst New Zealand stumbled across the line in third.