Photo Credit: OFC Media via Phototek

The draw has been finalised for the second edition of the OFC Women’s Champions League to be played in Honiara in the Solomon Islands, 10-23 March, 2024. 

Five teams competed in the inaugural tournament in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea last year and the growth of women’s football throughout Oceania is reflected in the tournament being expanded to eight teams for this year’s edition.

Six teams have been confirmed for the tournament with the representatives from New Caledonia and Vanuatu yet to be determined.

The tournament format consists of two groups of four teams, with each team to play each other once in the group stage, with the two highest placed teams from each group advancing to the semi-finals.

The winner of Group A will play the Runner-up of Group B and the winner of Group B will play the Runner-up of Group A.

The host nation’s champions Henderson Eels FC are in Group A and will play Papua New Guinea’s Hekari United FC, Avatiu FC from the Cook Islands and the Vanuatu representative team.

Fijian champions Labasa Women FC are in Group B and will face New Zealand’s Auckland United FC, Tonga’s Veitongo FC and the yet to be determined representative from New Caledonia.

Former Football Fern Maia Jackman, who helped conduct the draw said, “It’s exciting for women’s football in the region to build on the momentum created by the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ 2023, which was co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia.”