OFC Club Championship 1987

The 1987 OFC Club Championship was the first OFC club tournament and Oceania-wide club football tournament to be established. It consisted of nine participating teams and is now known as the OFC Champions League.

As the champion club of the highest ranked OFC member, Adelaide City qualified automatically for the final after winning the 1986 Australian National Soccer League. Mount Wellington, the 1986 New Zealand National Soccer League champions, were awarded a place in the semi-final, whilst the remaining champion clubs from Fiji, New Caledonia, the Solomon Islands, Tahiti, Vanuatu, Papua New Guinea, and Palau were forced to fight for the remaining semi-final spot through a qualifying tournament.

Fijian champions Ba emerged through the qualifying tournament, but proved no match for Mt Wellington in the semi-final, falling to a heavy 1-6 defeat. The New Zealand champions progressed through to the inaugural final against Adelaide City at Hindmarsh Stadium, before falling to a defeat on penalties after a 1-1 draw. Joe Mullen scored the goal for the hosts, whilst David Whiteveen levelled it up for Mt Wellington, only for Adelaide City to win the shootout and claim the inaugural OFC Club Championship title.