OFC Futsal Championship 2009

The sixth edition of the OFC Futsal Championship took place in 2009 and marked the beginning of the event as an annual tournament. It was held in Suva, Fiji for the second consecutive edition and was contested by four nations in a round-robin format, with the top two progressing to the final. Hosts Fiji were joined by defending champions the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, and New Caledonia.

History was made in the opening match of the tournament, as Elliot Ragomo scored within the opening three seconds of the Solomon Islands 8-3 win over New Caledonia to set the record for the fastest ever goal scored in an official futsal match. That set the tone for the remainder of the tournament for the defending champions, as they wrapped up top spot and a place in the final with a 5-3 victory against Fiji and a big 11-0 win over Vanuatu. Hosts Fiji joined them after a decisive 3-1 victory over New Caledonia in their final group game.

Elliott Ragomo, Micah Lea’alafa, and Jack Wetney all scored twice for the Solomon Islands as they defied the home crowd to claim their second consecutive OFC Futsal Championship title with a big 8-1 win over hosts Fiji in the final at Suva’s Vodafone Arena. Wetney went on to receive the golden ball for the best player of the tournament, while Vanuatu secured bronze with a 3-1 victory over New Caledonia in the third place play-off.