OFC Men’s Champions League 2007

(Photo Credit: OFC Media via Phototek)

The sixth edition of the OFC Champions League, and the first under its current name, was held in 2007 and contested between six teams. Again two New Zealand clubs automatically qualified for the group stage, alongside the league champions from New Caledonia, Fiji, Tahiti, and the Solomon Islands.

The format consisted of two groups of three where each team played each other home-and-away, before the top team in each group progressed to a two-legged final. Waitakere United edged rivals Auckland City to progress from Group A, whilst Fijian champions Ba FC were unbeaten in topping Group B. The two clubs met home and away over a two-legged final, with Ba FC taking the early advantage following a 2-1 win in the first leg at Govind Park in Fiji.

(Photo Credit OFC Media via Phototek)

Waitakere United’s goal on the road proved crucial though, as Allan Pearce led them a 1-0 victory in the second leg at Fred Taylor Park, and Waitakere United won their first OFC Champions League title on away goals after a 2-2 draw on aggregate. Waitakere United progressed to the 2007 FIFA Club World Cup as the OFC representative, but fell at the first hurdle with 1-3 defeat to 2007 AFC Champions League runners-up Sephan in the quarter-final play-off.