New Zealand Football have named a 21-strong men’s senior national squad for the upcoming fixtures against Curaçao and Bahrain on October 9 and 12 (10 and 13 October in New Zealand time).

The group includes five players who are in line to make their debut for the All Whites, while 10 players who were part of the Olympic side that reached the quarter-finals at Tokyo 2020 have also been selected.

Travel restrictions in place in both Australia and New Zealand mean the squad is made up of players based outside of the two countries.

“I think it speaks to the strength of the talent we are developing, and the success they are having overseas, that we are able to assemble a squad without any players from New Zealand and Australia,” head coach Danny Hay said.

“Obviously we would prefer to be in a position to include players from this part of the world, but I’m confident in the team we have been able to bring together and I know they are all chomping at the bit to get back on the pitch after such a long time.”

Ryan Thomas and Winston Reid are unavailable for selection for personal reasons, having recently returned from injury. Reid will join up with squad in a non-playing capacity to continue to mentor the younger members of the team.

Gianni Stensness is unavailable for selection having chosen to represent Australia at senior level.

Both games will be played at 7pm local time (5am in New Zealand).

The full 21-man squad is:

Stefan Marinovic (25 Caps) Hapoel Nof HaGalil, Israel

Nikola Tzanev (1 Cap) AFC Wimbledon, England

Michael Woud (2 Caps) Almere City FC, Netherlands

Michael Boxall (33 Caps) Minnesota United, USA

Nikko Boxall (3 Caps) SJK Seinäjoki, Finland

Liberato Cacace (3 Caps) Sint-Truidense VV, Belgium

Kelvin Kalua* (0 Caps) Eastern Suburbs, New Zealand (currently on trial in Europe)

Niko Kirwan (0 Caps) Padova, Italy

Nando Pijnaker (1 Cap) FC Helsingør (loan from Rio Ave FC), Denmark

Tommy Smith (38 Caps) Colchester United, England

Bill Tuiloma (26 Caps) Portland Timbers, USA

Dalton Wilkins* (0 Caps) Kolding IF (loan from FC Helsingør), Denmark

Joe Bell (2 Caps) Viking FK, Norway

Joseph Champness* (0 Caps) Giresunspor, Turkey

Matthew Garbett* (0 Caps) Torino, Italy

Sarpreet Singh (6 Caps) SSV Jahn Regensburg (loan from FC Bayern Münich), Germany

Marko Stamenic* (0 Caps) HB Køge (on loan from FC Copenhagen), Denmark

Andre de Jong (4 Caps) AmaZulu FC, South Africa

Elijah Just (2 Caps) FC Helsingør, Denmark

Callum McCowatt (1 Cap) FC Helsingør, Denmark

Chris Wood (57 Caps) Burnley FC, England

*Debut senior national team call-up