Oceania Football Confederation > News > International Friendly > All Whites squad named for Intercontinental Cup

All Whites squad named for Intercontinental Cup

Noah Billingsley during the FIFA U-20 World Cup in 2015. Credit: OFC via Phototek

All Whites Head Coach Fritz Schmid has named a young and exciting squad to contest the Intercontinental Cup in India next month.

The 23-man squad will compete against hosts India, Kenya and Chinese Taipei in the tournament staged at the Mumbai Football Arena from 1–10 June.

Schmid, who was named as the new Head Coach of the All Whites in March, said the tournament is an excellent opportunity for his team in the early stages of their rebuilding towards the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

The squad includes six uncapped players in goalkeepers Michael Woud and Nik Tzanez, defenders Nikko Boxall, Justin Gulley and Liberato Cacace and forward Noah Billingsley.

Six players who were in the squad selected by Schmid for the 1-0 loss to Canada in March – Michael McGlinchey, Marco Rojas, Michael Boxall, Jeremy Brockie, Ryan Thomas and Themi Tzimopoulos – were unavailable for this tour.

New Zealand will open the Intercontinental Cup on 2 June against World No 111 Kenya, they will play World No 121 Chinese Taipei three days later and finish their pool games against World No 97 India. The two top ranked sides from the six games will compete in the final on 10 June.

The Intercontinental Cup was first held in a tri-series format in 2017 (then known as Hero Tri-Nation Series). India were crowned the champions of the tournament after they finished top of the table with a win over Mauritius and a draw with St. Kitts and Nevis. It is the first event with the revised format.

New Zealand Football is pleased to confirm Roger Spry as the newest member of the All Whites coaching team. Spry has been named as an Assistant Coach alongside Des Buckingham and José Figueira. All Whites Head Coach Fritz Schmid said Spry will add a huge amount to the All Whites environment.

All Whites squad (Club, Country, Caps, Goals)

Max Crocombe (Salford City, ENG) 1, 0
Michael Woud (Sunderland, ENG) 0, 0
Nik Tzanev (AFC Wimbledon, ENG) 0, 0


Nikko Boxall (Viborg FF, DEN) 0, 0
Adam Mitchell (Bolton Wanderers, ENG) 1, 0
Sam Brotherton (Sunderland, ENG) 10, 0
Thomas Doyle (Wellington Phoenix) 9, 0
Dane Ingham (Brisbane Roar, AUS) 7, 0
Te Atawhai Hudson Wihongi (Onehunga Sports) 5, 0
Justin Gulley (Stop Out Sports) 0, 0
Liberato Cacace (Wellington Phoenix) 0, 0


Matt Ridenton (Newcastle Jets, AUS) 3, 0
Sarpreet Singh (Wellington Phoenix) 1, 0
Henry Cameron (Limerick, IRL) 2, 0
Cameron Howieson (Three Kings United) 10, 0
Clayton Lewis (Scunthorpe United, ENG) 14, 0
Tim Payne (Eastern Suburbs) 15, 2
Alex Rufer (Wellington Phoenix) 5, 0
Andre De Jong (Hakoah, AUS) 1, 0
Moses Dyer (Manukau United) 10, 0

Jai Ingham (Melbourne Victory, AUS) 1, 0
Noah Billingsley (Santa Barbara University, USA) 0, 0
Myer Bevan (Husqvarna FF, SWE) 3, 1

Cameron Brown
Niko Kirwan
Jack Henry Sinclair
Owen Parker Price
Callum McCowatt
Monty Patterson
Jake Porter
James McGarry
Logan Rogerson

All Whites Support Staff
Fritz Schmid – Head Coach
Des Buckingham – Assistant Coach
Jose Figueira – Assistant Coach
Roger Spry – Assistant Coach
Mark Oates – Goalkeeping Coach
Tom Reynolds – Doctor
Facundo Ramirez – Strength and Conditioning
Dong-Hyun Roh – Analyst
Seamus Marten – Manager
Roland Jeffrey – Lead Physiotherapist
Adam Crump – Physiotherapist
Chris Wardle – Kit Manager
Peter Thornton – Media Manager 

Related posts