Oceania Football Confederation > News > Unclassified > OFC U-20 CHAMPIONSHIP TAHITI 2008 – NEW CALEDONIA vs NEW ZEALAND (FINAL SCORE: 2-2)


PAPEETE – Welcome to Stade Paea in Tahiti for the third and final match day of the OFC U-20 Championships.

In this match New Zealand will face New Caledonia, with both sides requiring a win to have a chance at winning the title.

New Zealand have made three changes to the squad that lost 2-1 to Tahiti on Match Day Two, with goalkeeper Jake Gleeson replacing Rhyss Keane, Nick Keown Robson stepping in for the suspended Adam McGeorge and Corey Chettleburg making way for Michael Eager.

For New Caledonia Cesar Lolohea replaces Rony Atti.

Oceaniafootball.com will bring you live updates from the match… stay tuned. 

0′ – The match has kicked off with both sides desperate to turn the fixture into three points.

15′ – GOAL. NEW CALEDONIA 1 NEW ZEALAND 0. Alan Hnautra scores to put New Caledonia ahead and leave them head of the group for the time being.

27′ – Substitution for New Zealand. Skipper Ian Hogg is replaced by Fin Milne.

28′ – GOAL. NEW CALEDONIA 1 New ZEALAND 1. Greg Draper equalises for New Zealand.

32′ – GOAL. NEW CALEDONIA 2 NEW ZEALAND 1. Roy Kayara puts New Caledonia back in front.

HALF TIME – As things are poised at the break, New Caledonia are set to win the tournament.

52′ – Substitution for New Zealand. Jake Mathews is replaced by Milos Nikolic.

68′ – Substitution for New Zealand. John Niyonsaba comes on for Greg Draper.  

73′ –  GOAL. NEW CALEDONIA 2 NEW ZEALAND 2. Jonathan Raj draws New Zealand level.

80′ – Substitution. New Caledonia’s Jean Philippe Saiko is replaced by Rony Atti.

FULL TIME – NEW CALEDONIA 2 New ZEALAND 2. A result which prevents either team winning the tournament.

OFC U-20 Championship Tahiti 2008

Match Day Three

Stade Paea



Kick Off: 18H30 (Local Time)/ 15H30 (NZL T)

New Caledonia U-20

New Zealand U-20

NCL: 2. Joris GORENDIAWE; 3. Edmond IPUNESSO; 4. Jonathan KAKOU; 5. Jean Claude JEWINE; 6. Cesar LOLOHEA; 7. Maxime CHEVRY; 8. Jean WAHNYAMALLA; 9. Roy KAYARA; 12. Alan HNAUTRA; 14. Jean Philippe SAIKO; 20. Nicolas IWA (GK);

Substitutes not used: 1. Jean Daniel CAEE (RGK); 10. Rony ATTI; 11. Warren NAXUE; 13. Vincent VAKIE; 17. Yoahn AUSU; 15. Jihovany LOLOHEA; 16. Theodore HNANGANYAN; 18. Jean TYEA; 19. Yoann BAKO;

Coach: Didier CHAMBARON (FRA)

Yellow Cards: None

Red Cards: None

NZL: 2. Tim MYERS; 3. Ian HOGG (C); 5. Sam CAMPBELL; 6. Michael EAGER; 7. Costa BARBAROUSES; 9. Greg DRAPER; 14. Jonathan RAJ; 15. Michael PICKERING;17. Jake MATHEWS; 19. Nick KEOWN-ROBSON; 20. Jake GLEESON (GK);

Substitutes not used: 1.Rhyss KEANE; 4. Fin MILNE;10. Milos NIKOLIC; 11. John NIYONSABA; 12. Cory CHETTLEBURGH; 13. Ash SOLLY; 16. Alex BARLOW; 18. Sam BLACKBURN;

Suspended: 8. Adam McGeorge

Coach: Stu JACOBS

Yellow Cards:

Red Cards:

Referee: Jacques Averii (TAH)

Assistant Referee 1: Mahit Chilia (VAN)

Assistant Referee 2: Phillipe Revel (TAH)

Fourth Official: Norbert Hauata (TAH)

OFC U-20 Championship Tahiti 2008: Standings

New Caledonia 2 1 1 0 3 0 3 4
Tahiti 2 1 1 0 2 1 1 4
New Zealand 2 1 0 1 4 2 2 3
Fiji 2 0 0 2 0 6 -6 0

Related posts