Oceania Football Confederation > News > Unclassified > OFC FUTSAL CHAMPIONSHIP 2009 TAKES SHAPE


The countdown to the OFC Futsal Championship Fiji 2009 can now begin after the release of the official draw by Oceania Football Confederation (OFC).

With four teams confirmed, the championship is set to take place from 6-10 July at the Vodafone Arena in Suva.

Match Day 1 action sees Fiji pitted against Vanuatu while New Caledonia will clash with defending champions the Solomon Islands.

The ‘Kurukuru’ team from the Solomon Islands head into the championship as favourites after gaining valuable experience as Oceania’s representative at the FIFA Futsal World Cup Brazil 2008. Vanuatu will be up for the challenge having beaten the Solomon Islands 5-1 last year while New Caledonia, who have arguably the best domestic league, are also likely to be strong contenders. Fiji meanwhile have the all-important home advantage so the stage is set for an intriguing title fight.

Since the conception of the OFC Futsal Championship in 1992, the event has been held every four years as part of the qualification process for the FIFA Futsal World Cup tournaments. Fiji 2009 marks the first year of the new annual format for the championship which shows OFC’s commitment to developing futsal by providing meaningful competition on a regular basis.

The popularity of futsal – an indoor form of football played with five players per side and a weighted ball – continues to grow throughout Oceania as a number of Member Associations start to build domestic structures to support the game.

This year’s championship will follow a round-robin format with the top two teams advancing to the final and the remaining teams playing off for third place.  


Dates: 6-10 July (Match Days scheduled for 6, 7, 8, 10 July)

Venue: Vodafone Arena, Suva, Fiji

Teams: Fiji, New Caledonia, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu


1. Vanuatu

2. Fiji

3. New Caledonia

4. Solomon Islands

Match Day 1 Match Day 2 Match Day 3 Match Day 4
1 v 2 1 v 3 4 v 1 3rd vs. 4th
3 v 4 4 v 2 2 v 3 1st vs. 2nd

 Match Day 1 – Monday 6 July
18H00 Vanuatu Fiji Vodafone Arena, Suva
20H00 New Caledonia Solomon Islands Vodafone Arena, Suva

 Match Day 2 – Tuesday 7 July
18H00 Vanuatu New Caledonia Vodafone Arena, Suva
20H00 Solomon Islands Fiji Vodafone Arena, Suva

 Match Day 3 – Wednesday 8 July
18H00 Solomon Islands Vanuatu Vodafone Arena, Suva
20H00 Fiji New Caledonia Vodafone Arena, Suva

 Match Day 4 – Friday 10 July
18H00 3rd Place 4th Place Vodafone Arena, Suva
20H00 1st Place 2nd Place Vodafone Arena, Suva


Year Host Winner Runner Up Third
1992 Australia Australia Vanuatu New Zealand
1996 Vanuatu Austalia Fiji Vanuatu
1999 Vanuatu Australia Fiji Van
2004 Australia Australia New Zealand Vanuatu
2008 Fiji Solomon Islands Tahiti Vanuatu


Priscilla Duncan

Oceania Football Confederation

Media & Communications

T: +649 526 5651   

F: +649 525 8164

M:+64 (0)21 884 018   

E: [email protected]

Joel Tiller

Oceania Football Confederation

Media & Communications

T: +649 526 5654

F: +649 525 8164

M:+64 (0)21 994 520

E: [email protected]

Related posts