2006 OFC Club Championships – Preliminary

Govind Park, Ba, Fiji

6 – 10 February 2006

Match Day 1 – Match 1


Faaiuaso double sinks Nikao

Samoa’s club champions Tuanaimato Breeze came from a goal down and a sending off to defeat Nikao Sokattak of the Cook Islands 2-1 in the opening match of the 2006 OFC Club Championships – Preliminary at Govind Park in Ba, Fiji.

Tuka Tisam gave the Cook Islanders the lead in the 15th minute, but a Desmond Faaiuaso five-minute double midway through the second half sealed the victory, despite Jerome Taua receiving his marching orders shortly after half time.

Both teams had half chances saved in the early exchanges of the first, with both goal scorers guilty of squandering early chances.

The pace of Paul Luiz Van Eijk down Nikao’s right flank troubled the Samoan’s defence and it was his teasing cross that led to the opening goal. A mistimed acrobatic effort from John Bataillard fell at Tisam’s feet before he calmly slotted the ball past Joe Ugapo. Two minutes later Faaiuaso was played cleared through but badly mistimed his shot.

Nikao took their slender lead into the break.

The match turned in the 60th minute after Taua was sent from the field for an off the ball incident with Van Eijk. Taua had been booked six minutes earlier but received a straight red card for the infringement.

Despite being a man down Tuanaimato rallied and leveled matters in the 72nd minute, with Faaiuaso again played through one-on-one with Junior Rapena, this time giving the Nikao custodian no chance.

Five minutes later the former Manu Samoa rugby sevens rep had more reason to celebrate. A ball from deep in the Tuanaimato half caught the tiring Nikao back three out, substitute Dennis Bryce held the ball up before laying off to his strike partner who again gave Rapena no chance with his finish.

The goal was enough for the victory as the Samoans look forward to their next match with Tonga’s Lotoha’apai FC on Wednesday.

Match Facts


Nikao Sokattak 1 (Tuka Tisam 15′)

Tuanaimato Breeze 2 (Desmond Faaiuaso 72′, 77′)

Nikao Sokattack – 1. Junior Rapena; 2. Teatu Rangi Putere (8. Mona Vaine Keu 77′); 3. Albert Oti; 4. Paul Luiz Van Eijk (13. Poko-Long Pauka 65′); 9. Teariki Mateariki (11. Conrad Piri 62′); 10. Steven Willis (c); 12. Tuka Tisam; 14. Steve Cuthers; 15. John Bataillard; 18. Nathan Tisam; 19. Mark Jamieson

Subs not used – 5. Tepou Taana; 6. Kunde Tangimetua; 17. Papa Lee Ponini

Cautions – 12. Tuka Tisam (90′)

Tuanaimato Breeze – 1. Joe Ugapo; 2. Kiwi Timo; 3. Kennedy Faalavaau; 4. Sapati Umutaua (16. Michael Poutasi 92′); 5. Fauivi Ugapo; 6. Victor Lui (c) (14 Titi Esau 62′); 7. Jerome Taua; 8. Lionel Taylor; 10. Desmond Faaiuaso; 11. Andrew Setefano; 12. Iosefa Ioane (13. Dennis Bryce 45′)

Subs not used – 15. Danny Punimato; 17. Martin Tamasese; 20. Romeo Sa

Cautions – 7. Jerome Taua (54′)

Red Card – 7. Jerome Taua (60′)