Oceania Football Confederation > News > New Zealand > U-23 Olympic trialists named

U-23 Olympic trialists named

The week-long camp begins on Monday and ends with a trial match on Saturday at Taupo’s Crown Park.
The bulk of the players selected have experience of recent age-group FIFA World Cups, ASB Premiership football or both while Australian-based former U-20 international goalkeeper Rhyss Keane the only non-domestic player considered.
Auckland City fullback Ian Hogg, who played every minute of the Oly Whites’ maiden Olympic campaign in Beijing three years ago as an 18-year-old, will be one of the many players under the guidance of coaches Raul Blanco, Neil Emblen, Michael McGarry and Chris Zorocich during the week with All Whites boss Ricki Herbert also paying close attention to the sessions.
Junior All Whites coach Chris Milicich was unavailable for the camp through work commitments.
The men’s football tournament at the Olympic Games is an U-23 competition with three overage players per squad allowed for the finals in London. Oceania has one spot in the 16-nation tournament.
Next year, an 18-man squad will be selected from domestic and overseas-based players for a week-long OFC qualifying tournament provisionally scheduled for Fiji in March.
All Whites Chris Wood, Tommy Smith, Kosta Barbarouses, Marco Rojas and Jake Gleeson all fall into the U-23 bracket but their clubs are not required to release them for the qualifying tournament.
Squad for New Zealand U-23 trials
Rhyss KEANE (Heidelberg United, Australia)
Shaun PETA (Napier City Rovers / Hawke’s Bay United)
Max TOMMY (Hamilton Wanderers)
Matthew UPTON (Three Kings United)
Luke ADAMS (Waitakere United)
Jack BEGUELY (East Coast Bays / Waikato FC)
Nick BRANCH (Central United / Waikato FC)
Ian HOGG (Central United / Auckland City)
Raymond HOW (Hamilton Wanderers)
Reece LAMBERT (Central United)
Astley LEE (Three Kings United)
Timothy MYERS (Dunedin Technical / Waitakere United)
Alec SOLOMONS (East Coast Bays)
Jordan SWANEY (Mosgiel AFC / Canterbury United)
Ryan CAIN (Western Suburbs / Team Wellington)
Cory CHETTLEBURGH (Waitakere City)
Thomas DOYLE (Central United / Auckland City)
Alex FENERIDIS (Central United / Auckland City)
Ross HAVILAND (Onehunga Sport / Waitakere United)
Jack HOBSON-McVEIGH (Birkenhead United / Waitakere United)
Steven KIBBY (Mosgiel AFC)
Adam McGEORGE (Central United / Auckland City)
Jason McKEOWN (East Coast Bays / Waikato FC)
Andrew MILNE (Central United / Auckland City)
Daniel MORGAN-HOWELL (East Coast Bays / Auckland City)
Jordan VALE (Waitakere City / Waitakere United)
Daniel FRISCHKNECT (Hamilton Wanderers)
Ethan GALBRAITH (Lower Hutt City)
Sean LOVEMORE (Onehunga Sports / Waitakere United)
Dakota LUCAS (Waitakere City / Waitakere United)
Sam MARGETTS (Three Kings United / Waikato FC)
Milos NIKOLIC (East Coast Bays / Waikato FC)
Jack SALTER (Birkenhead United )
Coaches: Raul BLANCO, Neil EMBLEN, Michael MCGARRY, Chris ZOROCICH
Technical Advisor: Ricki HERBERT
Project Manager: Brian TURNER
Story courtesy of New Zealand Football.
For more on New Zealand football go to www.nzfootball.co.nz

Related posts