Oceania Football Confederation > News > News > History made as Wood elected NZF President

History made as Wood elected NZF President

New Zealand Football has its first-ever female President after Johanna Wood was elected at the organisation’s Annual Congress in Auckland.

The appointment sees Wood become the first female President to sit on the OFC Executive Committee, and makes her one of only several female Presidents among FIFA’s 211 Member Associations globally.

OFC President Lambert Maltock had nothing but praise for Wood, who in March was elected as an OFC Member of the FIFA Council – the strategic body which sets the vision for FIFA and global football at the Confederation’s Congress.

“First and foremost, congratulations to Johanna on her appointment as President of New Zealand Football,” Maltock said,

“In March OFC placed their support behind Johanna and her vision for football, and in particular the women’s game. I am incredibly pleased to see that same level of support coming from key stakeholders in New Zealand too.

“Johanna has proven herself with her strong foundations in governance, but also in the passion she has for the game.

“On behalf of the OFC Executive Committee, I know I am not alone in saying that we look forward to continuing to work closely with Johanna and New Zealand Football.”

Wood was elected onto the New Zealand Football ExCo in May of 2018 for a four-year term and was named as acting Vice-President last October.

“It’s an honour to be given a role of such responsibility and I am looking forward to making a positive contribution to a sport that means so much to so many New Zealanders,” Wood said.

“We have gone through and are continuing to go through a period of transition. Both ExCo and the Senior Management Team, along with our membership, are committed to delivering on the recommendations of the Independent Review. We remain committed to our vision of incredible performances both on and off the field.”

The congress also saw two new members elected to the New Zealand Football Executive Committee – Andrew Bowater and Jackie Barron – while Scott Moran was re-elected.

In addition to Johanna Wood being elected as President, Garry Carnachan was elected as Vice-President.

The Executive Committee of New Zealand Football is now comprised of the following members:

Johanna Wood (President)
Garry Carnachan (Vice-President)
Paul Cochrane
Mike Killick
Rakesh Naidoo
Scott Moran
Andrew Bowater
Jackie Barron

Related posts