Oceania Football Confederation > News > New Zealand > Maori Football NZ name trans-Tasman squads

Maori Football NZ name trans-Tasman squads

Credit: OFC via Phototek

Maori Football NZ has announced the four representative sides taking part in the third edition of the Trans-Tasman Clash of the Cultures in Auckland on January 18 against the Australian First Nations.

The 20-strong women’s squad includes current Football Fern Sarah Morton.

“With so much talent in the squad, we’re definitely looking forward to having that highly-valued international experience Sarah possess within the group,” head coach Asher Trotter said.

“I’m really looking forward to seeing the chemistry build between all of our incredibly talented players ahead of this Trans-Tasman Clash; there is nothing better than to see ‘talent lift talent’ and to give them that environment to really shine and thrive in.”

Adding to Morton’s Senior International experience is a further eight players – Ariana Gray, Dayna Stevens, Jayden Watts, Lily Taitimu, Jasmine Donald, Te Reremoana Walker, Steph Trowill and Renee Bacon – who have either represented New Zealand at age group level or played the game at the highest level this country has to offer for the female game – the National Women’s League.

Known as Ngā Wahine Whanapoikiri, the side has convincingly beaten their Trans-Tasman rivals in all previous meetings between the two nations, however Trotter is taking nothing for granted.

“We’re expecting a well-drilled team, no doubt about that.

“The beauty, and challenge, of fixtures like this is you don’t have a lot of competitive intel on the opposition, so we will be spending the majority of our time focussing on ourselves, and bringing our best possible performance come match day.”

In the lead-up to the big day, Maori Football NZ in conjunction with Papakura City FC will be hosting a Community Day event at McLennan Park on Friday 17 January.

The event starts at 11am and gives the wider community the chance to come down and meet the Maori Football NZ representative sides taking part in the 2020 Trans-Tasman Clash of the Cultures against the Australian First Nations.

Players from all four Maori Football teams will run several fun football activities for attendees.

Maori Football NZ chairman Philip Pickering-Parker is pleased to be able to hold such an event, the day before the third-edition of the Trans-Tasman Clash of the Cultures.

“It is another aspect of what this Clash of the Cultures initiative is about and hopefully it will be a good event for everyone.”

Maori Football NZ Community Day
Friday 17 January
McLennan Park, Papakura
11am – 1pm

2020 Trans-Tasman Clash of the Cultures
Saturday 18 January
McLennan Park, Papakura, Auckland

10am – U14 Girls
12pm – Open Women
2pm – U14 Boys
4pm – Open Men


Ngā Wahine Whanapoikiri – Aotearoa Maori Women

Aaliyah Konui (Ngāpuhi, Waikato)
Alia Smith (Ngāti Porou)
Amy McQuoid (Ngāti Raukawa)
Ariana Gray (Ngāpuhi)
Dayna Stevens (Ngāati Kahungunu)
Jasmine Donald (Taranaki)
Jayden Watts (Ngāti Pikiao)
Kalani Walters-Hewson (Te Rarawa)
Keri O’Connell (Ngāpuhi)
Kirsty Gage (Ngāti Hinerangi)
Lily Taitimu (Te Rarawa)
Pia Davis (Ngāpuhi)
Renee Bacon (Ngāi Tahu)
Te Reremoana Walker (Ngāti Maniapoto/Ngāpuhi)
Richlyn Tuhoro (Tuhoe/Ngāti Maniapoto)
Rosa Muru (Tainui)
Sam Waru (Ngāpuhi)
Sarah Morton (Ngāti Kahungunu)
Steph Trowill (Ngāti Ranginui)
Tara Jackson (Ngāpuhi)

Ngā Tane Whanapoikiri – Aotearoa Maori Men

Luke Sutton (Tainui)
Cody Rickard (Te Whanau Apanui/Tainui)
Sean Clark (Te Ati Awa)
Jeremiah Ruawhare (Tainui)
Tainui Adams (Waikato/Ngāti Raukawa/Ki Te Tonga)
Jayden Herewini (Te Aupouri/Ngāti Uenuku/Ngāpuhi/Ngātiwai)
Machiah Papa (Ngāi te Rangi/Te Whanau A Apanui)
Saint Lucia Lolohea (Te Aupouri)
Paora Porter (Tainui)
Izak Papa (Ngāi te Rangi/Te Whanau A Apanui)
Caleb Southee-Sami (Tainui/ Ngāti Toa/Ngāi Tahu/Kahungunu Ki Wairarapa)
Alex Mcgregor (Ngāti Porou)
Mel Cropp (Te Arawa)
Hone Fowler (Ngāti Porou/Ngāpuhi)
Rhys Ruka (Ngāpuhi)
Jack McQuoid (Ngāti Raukawa)

Ngā Kotiro Whanapoikiri – Aotearoa Maori U14 Girls

Latisha Maharaj (Ngāti Awa)
Katie Gray (Ngāti Raukawa)
Eve Mischewski (Ngātiwai)
Manaia Mill (Ngāti Porou)
Laney Whitson (Ngāi Tahu)
Lainee Brader Steed (Ngāti Awa)
Charlotte Marsters (Ngā Ariki Kaiputahi)
Isla Ganley (Ngāi Te Rangi)
Anika Lomax (Te Aitanga A Mahaki)
Ruby Nathan (Te Aupouri)
Leyla Butler (Ngāti Kahungunu)
Hannah Langsbury (Kai Tahu/Kati Mamoe/Waitaha/Rapuwai/Kati Hawea)
Danielle Fowler (Ngāti Ruanui)
Brooke Barclay (Ngāti Ranganui)
Ruby-Aroha Gunick (Ngāti Ranganui)
Ashley Nesbitt (Ngāpuhi)

Ngā Tama Whanapoikiri – Aotearoa Maori U14 Boys

Emmett Connolly (Ngāti Porou)
Tane Thompson (Ngāti Kahungunu)
Rico Margison (Ngāi Takoto)
Tamaho Perry (Ngāti Porou/Te Rarawa/Te Aupouri/Te Arawa)
Jamiel Te Wharau (Ngāti Rangitane)
Quinn Bodger (Ngāi Tahu)
Jesse Meikle (Ngāti Kahu)
Hamish Rowe (Ngāpuhi)
Kobe Swift (Te Arawa)
Mahaki Pomare (Ngāpuhi/Tainui/Ngāiterangi)
Shannon Perham-Hayes (Ngāpuhi)
Shakeal Pickering (Ngāpuhi/Ngāti Hine)
Thomas Reiri (Ngāti Kahungunu)

Related posts