Photo Credit: SIFF

Words: Peter Zoloveke Jr., Solomon Islands Football Federation Media Officer.

The Solomon Islands Interim Head Coach, Jacob Moli has expressed confidence that his team will be a strong contender at the OFC Men’s Nations Cup 2024 in Vanuatu.

Moli, who last week named his 23-man squad, is preparing to head to Vanuatu with a blend of experienced players and newcomers and emphasised the importance of finalising his squad early.

“Now we made the team cut and with only a week remaining, we can now go into more detail on how we will work as a unit,” he said.

His experience leading the senior side from 2011 to 2014, as well as his success with Central Coast FC in the Telekom S-League (TSL), positions him as a capable leader during this transitional period for the team.

Despite acknowledging the challenges ahead, including matches against the host nation Vanuatu, Pacific Games gold medalist New Caledonia, and defending champions New Zealand, Moli remains optimistic.

“I think once we do the right thing to prepare as a team, we can give them a run for their money.”

Moli has included promising talents like Central Coast FC attacking midfielder Hadyn Irodao and Hudson Oreinima, both of whom have performed strongly in the TSL.

KOSSA FC defender Steven Koti, also making his international debut, is another addition to the squad.

Micah Le’alafa is not part of the squad due to personal reasons, however Atkin Kaua and Joses Nawo from Vanuatu’s Galaxy FC have been included and will be joining the team in Honiara.

Additionally, Leon Kofana from Fiji’s Rewa FC is returning to the squad, along with Raphael Lea’i, who is currently in Australia for trials.

Solomon Islands will kick off their Group A campaign against Vanuatu on June 15, followed by matches against New Zealand on June 18 and New Caledonia on June 21 at the VFF Fresh Water Stadium in Port Vila.

Solomon Islands squad for the OFC Men’s Nations Cup 2024


Philip Mango
Harold Nauania
Michael Laulae


Javin Wae Alick
Leon Kofana
Steve Koti
Prince Tahunipue
Allen Peter
David Supa
David Junior
Calvin Ohasio


Hudson Oreinima
Hadyn Irodao
Atkin Kaua
Tigi Molea
Marhlon Tahioa,


Raphael Lea’i
Bobby Leslie
Junior Fordney
Gagame Feni
John Orobulu
Joses Nawo
Alwin Hou