Oceania Football Confederation > News > 2010 O-League > 2nd Leg Final Preview

2nd Leg Final Preview

With a 3-0 victory in the 1st Leg Final, Hekari are on the verge of history as they look to become the first club side from outside New Zealand or Australia to represent Oceania at the FIFA Club World Cup.
Waitakere have twice before overturned 1st Leg O-League Final deficits to win the 2007 and 2008 titles but this time around they must win by four clear goals to advance.
And they may have to do it without one of their key attacking players Roy Krishna.
“Roy took a real heavy whack on the ankle during the game on Saturday,” says player-coach Neil Emblen.
“The first couple of days we thought he’d be no chance but everyday we’ve seen an improvement. We’re waiting for the MRI scans to get back so fingers crossed there’s nothing major there.”
The Fijian International would be a huge loss for the home side but Emblen says he otherwise has a full squad to choose from. Despite the tough challenge ahead, Emblen believes the confidence in the squad is high, particularly after their 3-1 victory against Canterbury in the NZFC Grand Final.
“We scored another three goals at the weekend and we should’ve had four or five. We had two penalty shouts turned down and hit the post twice. We just need to do the same this weekend.”
English-born Emblen is also drawing inspiration from Wigan Athletic’s dramatic 3-2 victory over Arsenal recently.
“Wigan scored three goals against Arsenal in the last 10 minutes, so we use those little things as motivation to say, hey look, anything can happen.”
Hekari United also tasted Grand Final victory last weekend thrashing Gigira Laitepo Morobe FC 5-0 to claim their fourth consecutive National Soccer League title. Striker Kema Jack picked up the Golden Boot Award for the third year running and, having scored two goals in the 1st Leg Final, is likely to be a key threat to Waitakere again this weekend.
The Hekari team, featuring six Solomon Islanders and two Fijians, arrived in Auckland on Monday and have adjusted well to the colder conditions according to manageress Vonnie Eteaki Kapi-Natto.
“The team spirit is good, the trainings have been good. I feel everyone is ready for this match. We have the advantage so on Sunday it’s just about giving it everything.”
But the coaching staff are aware that, with so much at stake, Waitakere will throw up a formidable challenge.
“Looking at Waitakere’s past record, no team has beaten them at home this season. We’re sure that they will come out hard against us,” says assistant coach Tommy Mana.
“But if we happen to qualify it will be a big boost for other Island countries. No club from the Pacific Islands has beaten a New Zealand team at this level. It will be a huge motivator for young kids who will see that we too can win the O-League and qualify for FIFA events.”
If Hekari manage to score at the weekend the away goal rule will mean Waitakere have a huge mountain to climb. With one goal scored against them, the home side will need to win 5-1; with two goals it will need to be 6-2, and so on.
The winner over both legs will qualify for Oceania’s US$500,000 playoff spot at the FIFA Club World Cup scheduled to take place in UAE this December.
Waitakere United [NZL] vs. Hekari United FC [PNG]
Sunday 2 May 2010
Fred Taylor Park
Waitakere, New Zealand
Local kick-off: 14H00

Referee: Norbert HAUATA [TAH]
Assistant Referee 1: Michael JOSEPH [VAN]
Assistant Referee 2: Ashwin KUMAR [FIJ]
Fourth Official: Rakesh VARMAN [FIJ]
Waitakere United: 1. Danny ROBINSON [GK], 2. Jason ROWLEY, 3. Aaron SCOTT, 4. Tim MYERS, 7. Martin BULLOCK, 8. Brent FISHER, 9. Benjamin TOTORI, 10. Allan PEARCE, 11. Neil SYKES, 12. Roy KRISHNA, 16. Neil EMBLEN, 17. Jake BUTLER (C), 18. Zane SOLE, 19. Dakota LUCAS, 20. Ryan DE VRIES, 21. Jack PELTER, 22. Liam LITTLE [GK], 24. Luke ADAMS.
Coach: Neil EMBLEN [ENG]
Hekari United FC: 1. Godfrey BANIAU [GK], 2. Gideon OMOKIRIO, 4. Cyril MUTA, 5. Brian TUHIANA, 7. Benjamin MELA, 8. Michael FOSTER, 9. Tuimasi MANUCA, 11. Joachim WAROI, 12. David MUTA (C), 13. Andrew LEPANI, 16. Pita BOLATONGA, 17. Kema JACK, 18. Eric KOMENG, 19. Koriak UPAIGA, 20. Gure GABINA [GK], 25. Stanley WAITA, 26. Alick MAEMAE, 28. Henry FA’ARODO.
Coach: Jerry ALLEN [SOL]
Hekari United FC [PNG] vs. Waitakere United [NZL]
Saturday 17 April 2010
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
PMRL Stadium
Hekari United FC: 3 (Kema JACK 27’, 73’, Alick MAEMAE 49’)
Waitakere United: 0
Halftime: 1-0

Related posts