Oceania Football Confederation > News > News > 2009 TAHITI NUI BEACH SOCCER CHAMPIONSHIP – TAHITI BEAT FIJI 6-3, FINISH 3RD


Tahiti has won its 3rd/4th play-off match against Fiji after fighting back from being a goal down three times to win 6-3.

Valerio Nawatu opened scoring when he was at the end of a quick counter-attack which he finished with a powerful low shot into the far post corner of the net.

Substitute Eizo Arai equalised for Tahiti with an un-opposed header at the back post from a cross midway through the period.

But Fijian substitute Shailendra Buisena latched onto some ponderous passing at the back by Tahiti and thumped a low first time shot past the stranded Tahiti keeper for a 2-1 first period lead.

In the second minute of the second period Jean Claude Chang Koei Chang brought Tahiti level again with a follow up shot from a rebound off the Fijian keeper – who only seconds earlier had saved a penalty.

Nawatu again gave his team the lead early in the second period but Angelo Tchen again equalised for the hosts from a direct freekick and Arai scored his second goal soon after with a header deflection off of a teamate’s shot at goal.  

Teva Zaveroni and Roihau Degage joined the goal scoring action in the third to give Tahiti a comfortable three goa winning margin.

Tahiti player/coach Sebastien Labayen said his team is disapointed but know what the must improve.

"It is positive to finish with a win today but we are still very disappointed. We had 33 trainings for this and we wanted to win the Championship. We have to play more with the spirit of Beach Soccer, like the Solomons, they have the Beach Soccer mentality and they respect the spirit of Beach Soccer – we must play more like that."  

Tahiti 6-3 Fiji (1-2, 4-2, 1-0)

Tahiti: 1. Rehia DAVIO; 3, Angelo TCHEN; 7. Raimana LI FUNG KUEE; 9. Teva ZAVERONI; 11. Jean Claude CHANG KOEI CHANG

Substitutes: 2. Sebastien LABAYEN; 4. John HOFFMAN; 5. Stephen LEFOC; 6. Kenny NUI; 8. Eizo ARAI; 10. Roihau DEGAGE; 12. Franck REVEL; 

Fiji: 2. Kamal HASSAN; 3. Valerio NAWATU; 8. Alvin AVINESH; 10. Taniela Evo WAQA; 12. Beniamino Mojito MATEINAQARA;

Substitutes: 1. Alivereti BALELOA; 4. Shonal Joel SHARMA; 5. Sandeep NAIR; 6. Abinesh Sailesh SAMY; 7. Shailendra BUISENA; 9. Muni Arvindra NAIDU;

Related posts