Photo Credit: SIFF Media

Donald Marahare has been elected as the new Solomon Islands Football Federation (SIFF) President following an elective congress held in June, for a new executive under a four year mandate.

“I want to thank everyone who has shown their support and trust in me to lead football for the next four years,” Marahare said after the official announcement.

“Our work in developing football continues from today and onwards, moving the game we all love forward. I’m prepared, and let us drive football development in the country.”

The SIFF Electoral Committee conducted the election led by Dr. Paul Mae, Benjamin Afuga, and Norman Vavaya and representatives from the Solomon Islands Electoral Commission (SIEC). Also, overseeing the process was FIFA Director of Member Associations Asia and Oceania, Sanjeevan Balasingham and FIFA Regional Development Manager David Firisua.

Three members were voted in as Vice Presidents; Tommy Mana Makira/Ulawa Football Association (MUFA), Robert Seni (KOSSA FC), and Lyndon Bako Isabel Football Association (IFA).