New Zealand has been confirmed as the host of the OFC Nations Cup 2020 tournament scheduled to take place in Auckland between June 6-20.

The OFC Executive Committee’s decision was handed down following a successful bid by New Zealand Football.

It will be the first time in 18 years for New Zealand to host Oceania’s premier men’s competition and the Kiwis will go into the tournament as defending champions following their penalty shootout victory against Papua New Guinea in Port Moresby four years ago.

This year’s edition will see eight teams competing with automatic qualifiers New Zealand, Fiji, New Caledonia, Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Tahiti, Vanuatu and the winner of a preliminary qualifying tournament involving American Samoa, Samoa, Tonga and the Cook Islands between March 21-27 at the CIFA Academy in Rarotonga.

The draw for the final stage of the OFC Nations Cup 2020 tournament in Auckland will be made at a later date and the full match schedule of the competition will be published following consultation between the Oceania Football Confederation and New Zealand Football.