Oceania Football Confederation President Lambert Maltock extended his congratulations to re-elected Papua New Guinea Football Association (PNGFA) President John Kapi Natto and the newly elected Executive Committee.

Kapi Natto was re-elected unopposed for a four-year term at the 16th Congress of the PNGFA at Port Moresby’s Crown Plaza on Saturday, June 20.

Maltock praised Kapi Natto for showing steady hands to steer the game in Papua New Guinea through some turbulent waters since taking up the presidency in October 2018.

“On behalf of the OFC family, I congratulate John Kapi Natto on his re-election and I look forward to continuing to work with him and with the new PNGFA Executive Committee,” Maltock said.

“Papua New Guinean football has a proud history and a bright future and I support John’s vision to keep developing the game in his Member Association as well as across the entire Oceania region. Since his election in 2018, John and his team have introduced positive reforms within the PNGFA and I thank them all for their hard work to help take our game forward.

“Football will return in the Pacific soon as we continue to recover from the coronavirus pandemic and it’s pleasing to see we have so many passionate people involved in the game.”

Apart from the election of the PNGFA president, the Congress has also elected new executive committee members comprising four Vice-Presidents representing the four regions, a women football committee member and four ordinary members as per the new PNGFA Statutes.

The Vice-President are, Siegfried Beschel (Momase), Francis Ank (Highlands), Morea Vavine (Southern), Justine Helele (NGI) while the four ordinary members are, Jack Nawi Changau (NGI), Joshua Kayengkim (Southern), Diana Ulka Uran (Highlands), Jackson Varcili (Momase) and a women’s football committee Mrs Jean Gariki.