Oceania Football Confederation > News > News > Three-man shortlist revealed

Three-man shortlist revealed

Five-time FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year Marta of Brazil is once again in the running for the award and will be up against the United States of America’s Alex Morgan and Abby Wambach.
The candidates for the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football and Women’s Football were also revealed with Vicente Del Bosque, Spain (Spain), Pep Guardiola, Spain (FC Barcelona) and Jose Mourinho, Portugal (Real Madrid) lining up for the men’s award, and Bruno Bini, France (France), Norio Sasaki, Japan (Japan) and Pia Sundhage, Sweden (USA) for the women’s award.
All the nominees were confirmed after a poll in which the captains and head coaches of the men’s and women’s national teams, as well as international media representatives selected by France Football, voted for candidates.
The shortlist of 15 forwards for the FIFA FIFPro World XI was also announced, completing the final shortlist of 55 players featuring five goalkeepers, 20 defenders and 15 midfielders.
In addition, the three nominees for the FIFA Puskás award for the most beautiful goal of the year were announced. They are: Falcao (América de Cali-Atletico Madrid, May 19, 2012), Neymar (Santos-Internacional, March 7, 2012) and Miroslav Stoch (Fenerbahçe-Gençlerbirligi, March 3, 2012).
All the awards will be presented during the FIFA Ballon d’Or Gala at the Kongresshaus in Zurich on January 7 during a televised show to be streamed live on FIFA.com and FIFA on YouTube.
In addition to the above awards, the recipient of the FIFA Presidential Award and the FIFA Fair Play award will also be revealed during the gala.
Story courtesy of FIFA.com.
For more on the world game go to www.fifa.com

Related posts