Oceania Football Confederation > News > Unclassified > OFC – TEAMS NAME FINAL SQUAD LIST FOR BEACH SOCCER


Michael Gwyther, Stuart Hogg, David Samson, Joel Mathews, Nathan Fry, Dean Johnston, Mikael Munday round off what looks a very solid unit.

Defending champions – the Bilikiki Boys from Solomon Islands – received a heroes send off in Honiara last week with high expectations of success following last year’s performances in Brazil.

James Naka and Joe Luwi will lead the Bilikiki frontline in their quest to make it two-in-a-row Beach Soccer titles. The squad is supplemented by experienced goalkeeper Fred Hale, Richard Anisua,
Samson Takayama, John Morgan, Gideon Omokirio, Eddie Ngaitin, Henry Koto and Benjamin Mela.

Not returning this year is coach Eddie Omokirio and assistant Vivian Wickham. They have been replaced by national team coach Airton Andrioli and assistant Rueben Oimae.

Vanuatu coach Greg Brown has named a small squad for the tournament and will be hoping injuries and suspensions do not wreck his plans. Jean Maleb will be the focal point of attack for Vanuatu with
Ken Masauvakalo and Fenedy Masauvakalo sure to prove a handful for opponents.

With the Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) Beach Soccer Championship – New Zealand 2007 just a matter of days away, the finishing touches have been put on the squads that will fight it out for a
place in Rio.

New Zealand coach James Pamment contains very few surprises with the squad reading like a ‘who’s who’ of New Zealand Football Championship talent including goalkeepers Mitchell O’Brien and Simon

Tahiti missed out at Temae Beach in 2006 despite lighting up the tournament with their vast array of trickery and ball wizardry.

Goalkeeper Mikael Roche makes a return to the squad for the Devonport-based tournament and is joined by a strong contingent of top level club footballers from the main island including Teva Zaveroni,
Billy Mataitai, Thierry Qaeze, Pierre Kugogne, Georges Pitoeff, Raimana Lee Fung Kuee, Jeremy Dubois, Johann Petillon and Daniel Tapeta.

Coach Sebastien Labayan will be optimistic his side can make a big impression despite the cold weather conditions currently lashing New Zealand.

The OFC Beach Soccer Championship – New Zealand 2007 takes place at Narrow Neck Beach, Devonport, July 7th/8th with the winner qualifying for the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup – Rio de Janeiro 2007.

Related posts