Oceania Football Confederation > News > Unclassified > OFC U-20 CHAMPIONSHIP TAHITI 2008 – TAHITI CLAIM OFC U-20 CROWN


PAPEETE – Tahiti won their first ever Oceania Football tournament today, after beating Fiji 2-0 in Match Day Three of the OFC U-20 Championship in Tahiti.

On an evening of high drama, in which three teams started the final round of matches with a shout of winning, tournament honours see-sawed back and forth between Tahiti and New Caledonia in matches which were played concurrently.

But Tahiti finally edged it thanks to a 2-0 win over a Fiji team which finished the match with nine payers. Meanwhile New Zealand fought back to level 2-2 against New Caledonia, which eventually allowed Tahiti the relative luxury of a two-point margin at the top of the table in the battle of the French-speaking nations.

Had New Caledonia managed one more goal, they would have been the ones going to the FIFA U-20 World Cup Egypt 2009 in September, but it was not to be, and the day belonged to the determined Tahiti side and their Coach Lionel Charbonnier.

“Winning the championship is incredible, both for us and the people of Tahiti who can now be confident in the quality of our youth players,” Charbonnier said.

“We were ranked at 487 in the latest FIFA ranking and now we have qualified with the 20 best teams in the world for the FIFA U-20 World Cup, I am so proud of the team.”

Charbonnier said he was closely monitoring the score line from the game between New Caledonia and New Zealand – played at the same time – and admitted being worried at one stage.

“All the time we kept getting updates on the score from the other game, and we followed it closely because it was so important.

“I was afraid when New Caledonia went up 2-1 because I knew that New Caledonia had the talent and potential to beat New Zealand.”

Charbonnier said his sides preparation for Egypt had already begun by being involved in the Tahitian D1 Championnat – their national league.

“We will follow on with our participation in the championship of Tahiti. It’s the first time an age group team has played in the competition and we plan on playing to the end and getting good experience.

“We have a lot to learn from playing with these senior teams, and after the season we will make plans for a tour of Europe, where I know personally that we can have a good preparation.”

Tahiti got off to a dream start when Alvin Tehau put the hosts ahead in the tenth minute. Things got worse for Fiji when Nasoni Mereke was shown a straight red card in the 31st minute.

Hiva Kamoise gave Tahiti a margin of comfort with his strike seven minutes into the second half before Fiji were reduced to nine players when Monit Chand picked up his second bookable offense.

Meanwhile at Stade Paea New Caledonia looked set to progress through as winners of the tournament until the 73rd minute when New Zealand struck an equalizer.

Alan Hnautra put New Caledonia ahead in the 15th minute with a sublime individual goal. Hnautra used his pace to glide through the New Zealand defence to the by-line where he slapped the ball home from a very acute angle.

New Zealand replied in the 28th minute when Greg Draper equalized from the penalty spot, before New Caledonia took the lead again six minutes later.

Roy Kayara put his side back in front with a sublime free kick from 25 yards out which sparked great celebrations from the bench.

But New Zealand spoiled their party in the 73rd minute when Jonathan Raj connected with a header from a free kick and swung the championship pendulum back in favour of Tahiti.

After a third placed finish, New Zealand coach Stu Jacobs was under no illusions about the improvement of the two French territories.

“It’s a wake up call for this group and perhaps the organisation too,” Jacobs said.

“You look at Tahiti and New Caledonia and they are both very good technically and have tremendous pace.

“They are now very formidable sides who have been playing together for a long time.

“Tahiti have even invested in bringing Lionel Charbonnier out from France to coach, so they’re not sitting back and waiting for New Zealand.

“We can’t take anything for granted.”

“But it’s not just lack of time or preparation, you have to be on your game on the night as well, get your systems right and have the right players out on the pitch.”

OFC U-20 Championship Tahiti 2008 Final Standings

Tahiti 3 2 1 0 4 1 +3 7
New Caledonia 3 1 2 0 5 2 +3 5
New Zealand 3 1 1 1 6 4 +2 4
Fiji 3 0 0 3 0 8 -8 0

OFC U-20 Championship Tahiti 2008

Match Day Three

Stade Paea



Kick Off: 18H30 (Local Time)/ 15H30 (NZL T)

New Caledonia U-20 (2) 2 (12. Alan HNAUTRA 15’; 9. Roy KAYARA 34’;)

New Zealand U-20 (1) 2 (9. Greg DRAPER 28’; 14. Jonathan RAJ 73’ )

NCL: 2. Joris GORENDIAWE; 3. Edmond IPUNESSO; 4. Jonathan KAKOU; 5. Jean Claude JEWINE; 6. Cesar LOLOHEA; 7. Maxime CHEVRY; 8. Jean WAHNYAMALLA; 9. Roy KAYARA; 12. Alan HNAUTRA; 14. Jean Philippe SAIKO (10. Rony ATTI 80’); 20. Nicolas IWA (GK);

Substitutes not used: 1. Jean Daniel CAEE (RGK); 11. Warren NAXUE; 13. Vincent VAKIE; 17. Yoahn AUSU; 15. Jihovany LOLOHEA; 16. Theodore HNANGANYAN; 18. Jean TYEA; 19. Yoann BAKO;

Coach: Didier CHAMBARON (FRA)

Yellow Cards: None

Red Cards: None

NZL: 2. Tim MYERS; 3. Ian HOGG (C) (4. Fin MILNE 27&r
squo;); 5. Sam CAMPBELL; 6. Michael EAGER; 7. Costa BARBAROUSES; 9. Greg DRAPER (11. John NIYONSABA 68’); 14. Jonathan RAJ; 15. Michael PICKERING;17. Jake MATHEWS (10. Milos NIKOLIC 52’); 19. Nick KEOWN-ROBSON; 20. Jake GLEESON;

Substitutes not used: 1.Rhyss KEANE; 12. Cory CHETTLEBURGH; 13. Ash SOLLY; 16. Alex BARLOW; 18. Sam BLACKBURN;

Suspended: 8. Adam McGeorge

Coach: Stu JACOBS

Yellow Cards: None

Red Cards: None

Referee: Jacques Averii (TAH)

Assistant Referee 1: Mahit Chilia (VAN)

Assistant Referee 2: Phillipe Revel (TAH)

Fourth Official: Norbert Hauata (TAH)

OFC U-20 Championship Tahiti 2008

Match Day Three

Stade Mahina



Kick Off: 18H30 (Local Time)/ 16H30 (FIJ T)

Tahiti U-20 (1) 2 (21. Alvin TEHAU 10’; 9. Hiva KAMOISE 54’)

Fiji U-20 (0) 0

TAH: 3. Stephane FAATIARAU; 4. Teheivarii LUDIVION; 5. Ariihau TERIITAU; 6. Heimano BOUREBARE; 7. Garry ROCHETTE; 9. Hiva KAMOISE; 11. Stanley ATANY; 19. Marama AMAU; 20. Lorenzo TEHAU; 21. Alvin TEHAU; 22. Teheipuarii HAUATA (GK);

Substitutes not used: 2. Tauirai TEIVA;  23. Ralph HEITAA; 8. Heiarii TAVANAE;12. Rangitea BENETT; 15. Rainui TZE YU; 17. Nahui TEIEFITU; 18. Tehau BENETT;

Injured; 13. Steeve CHONG HUE


Yellow Cards: 5. Ariihau TERIITAU 15’; 21. Alvin TEHAU; 6. Heimano BOUREBARE 73’;

Red Cards: None

FIJ: 1. Wasim ALI; 2.Peniame DROVA; 6. Esava NAQELECA; 9. Taione KEREVANUA (4. Josefata NEIBULI 83’); 10. Nasoni MEREKE; 11. Monit CHAND; 13. James MCKAY; 15. Jese ILIMOTAMA; 16. Ranjesh PRASAD; 18. Joseva BASUDRA; 19. Maciu TUILAU (17. Samuela DRUDRU 70’);

Substitues not used: 3. Amani MAKOE; 7. Sumeet KRISHAN; 8. Ratu Vula BONAVEIDOGO; 12. Archie WATKINS; 14. Velagio DRAUNIMASI; 20. Filimone BOLETAWA;

Coach: Carlos BUZZETTI (FIJ)

Suspended: 5. ROMUERO

Yellow Cards: 11. Monit CHAND 45’, 77’; 1. Wasim ALI 52’;

Red Cards: 11. Monit CHAND 77’;

Referee: Laurent QUERE (NCL)

Assistant Referee 1: Mark RULE (NZL)

Assistant Referee 2: Ganhenerik HINT (NZL)

Fourth Offical: Matthew TONJER (NZL)

Related posts