Wellington United were crowned winners of the women’s 2021 Football Foundation Kate Sheppard Cup after beating the Hamilton Wanderers 1-0 in the final last weekend.   

Held at the North Harbour Stadium in Auckland, Wellington’s Sarah Alder proved the difference after she steered a header past Hamilton’s goalkeeper Rylee Godbold in the 56th minute to secure the win.  

This was the first time Wellington were finalists and won a Kate Sheppard Cup title.  

United midfielder Emma Main, a former age-group international, was named the game’s MVP and winner of the Maia Jackman Trophy.  

Prior to the final Wellington beat previous titleholders Eastern Suburbs AFC 1-0 in the semi-finals. 

The final was originally scheduled to take place on March 13 but was postponed following a large number of COVID-19 cases in Wellington’s camp.  

The competition had also been postponed last year due to ongoing COVID-19 restrictions. 

Starting XIs 

Wellington United: 1 GK Molly SIMONS 2 Sophie DIJKSTRA 3 Hope GILCHRIST 4 Zoe BARROTT 6 Francesca GRANGE 8 Emma MAIN 9 Danielle OHLSSON 11 Pepi OLLIVER-BELL 13 Rosie WILD 14 Sarah ALDER 16 Asha STROM 

Hamilton Wanderers: 1 GK Rylee GODBOLD 3 Lisa EVANS 4 Anna FULLERTON 5 Michaela FOSTER 8 Jordana BREMNER 10 Helen ARJOMANDI 12 Shannon TREBES 16 Tiana HILL 19 Maddison OLLINGTON 20 Chelsea ELLIOTT 21 Caitlin BYRNE