Oceania Football Confederation > News > News > Advisory: Media Accreditation

Advisory: Media Accreditation

The 2016 OFC Champions League will take place in Auckland at QBE Stadium in Albany from 8-23 April 2016.
12 clubs from eight OFC Member Associations –Fiji, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tahiti and Vanuatu – are taking part in the tournament dubbed Oceania’s premier international club competition.
Not only will the winner pick up the title of regional champions they will also go on to represent Oceania at the FIFA Club World Cup in December.
Media interested in attending the tournament are kindly requested to fill out the application form and send by email to [email protected] no later than Thursday 24 March, 2016.
Background information
The OFC Champions League tournament will be held at QBE Stadium in Aucklnad, New Zealand from 8-23 April with the participating teams being defending champions Auckland City FC and 2015 runners-up Team Wellington, Suva, Nadi, Amicale, Lae City Dwellers, Hekari United, AS Tefana, Solomon Warriors, AS Magenta, AS Lossi and Kiwi FC.
All 12 teams will compete for OFC’s sole qualification spot at the FIFA Club World Cup, set to be held in December this year.
The teams will play each other once in their respective four team groups based on a league system with the group winners and the best placed runner-up advancing to the semi-finals at QBE Stadium on 20 April.
The final will also be held at the stadium on 23 April, with kick-off scheduled for 2pm.
The OFC Club Championship was first held in Fiji in 1999 when South Melbourne defeated Nadi 5-1 in the inaugural final.
Since that first championship 16 years ago, the tournament has been held another 12 times, making this the 14th edition of the Pacific’s premier international club event. It has been held at various intervals in the past but now takes place annually as Oceania seeks a representative for the annual FIFA Club World Cup.
Australia (which left OFC for the Asian Football Confederation in 2006) and New Zealand clubs have dominated the competition since its inception, New Zealand teams earning nine title wins to Australia’s three.
The only team to break that stranglehold has been Hekari United of Papua New Guinea with its triumph in 2010.
Download the 2016 OFC Champions League Media Accreditation application form here

Related posts